Religion & Philosophy CollectionThis link opens in a new windowCovers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Contains indexing, abstracts, and links to full text articles.
History Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowHistory Reference Center features cover-to-cover full text for historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books. The database also includes full text for leading history periodicals, historical documents, and biographies of historical figures, as well as historical photos and maps and historical film and video.
Australia/New Zealand Points of ViewThis link opens in a new windowThis resource presents diverse perspectives on important issues and events. The information is a balanced perspective to better understand controversial issues and craft persuasive arguments – in speech and in writing.
Encyclopaedia BritannicaThis link opens in a new windowDiscover encyclopedia articles, journals and periodicals, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources that are curriculum-aligned and support student research and classroom teaching.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Australian Dictionary of BiographyThis link opens in a new windowThe Australian Dictionary of Biography is Australia's pre-eminent dictionary of national biography. In it you will find concise, informative and fascinating descriptions of the lives of over 13,000 significant and representative persons in Australian history. The subjects come from all walks of life — from prime ministers, governors-general and premiers, generals and bishops, artists, actors and authors, engineers and schoolteachers, to prostitutes, thieves and murderers — providing a cross-section of Australian society.
The ADB is produced by the National Centre of Biography at the Australian National University (ANU) and is available both as a hardcopy publication and online.
Cultural Advice
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website contains names, images, and voices of deceased persons.
In addition, some articles contain terms or views that were acceptable within mainstream Australian culture in the period in which they were written, but may no longer be considered appropriate.
These articles do not necessarily reflect the views of The Australian National University.
Older articles are being reviewed with a view to bringing them into line with contemporary values but the original text will remain available for historical context.
Books in the library
Books in the Library
There is a collection of books in the Library on topics for this assessment, located on the Closed Reserve shelves. Please see Library staff for assistance or more information.
