Caroline Chisholm was known as the emigrant's friend, a title earned last century for her work with poor migrants to Australia. Mrs Chisholm's portrait was on the five dollar note for more than 20 years, used in recognition of her fight for social justice.
References
ABC. (1994). Australians - Caroline Chisholm [Video]. ClickView. https://clickv.ie/w/jX8t
ABC. (2010). Australians - Mary Mackillop [Video]. ClickView. https://clickv.ie/w/5dAt
Anderson, J. (1872). William Charles Wentworth 1972 [Portrait]. State Library of New South Wales. https://archival.sl.nsw.gov.au/Details/archive/110328311
Backler, J. (n.d.). Samuel Marsden (1765-1838) [Portrait]. Australian Dictionary of Biography. https://adb.anu.edu.au/biography/marsden-samuel-2433
Catholic Online. (n.d.). St. Mary Mackillop. https://www.catholic.org/saints/saint.php?saint_id=4958
Conway, J. (2022). Blaxland, Gregory (1778–1853). Australian Dictionary of Biography. https://adb.anu.edu.au/biography/blaxland-gregory-1795
Eddy, J. (2006). Therry, John Joseph (1790–1864). Australian Dictionary of Biography. https://adb.anu.edu.au/biography/therry-john-joseph-2722
The Editors of Encyclopaedia Britannica. (2022, April 7). John Macarthur. In Encyclopedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/biography/John-Macarthur
The Editors of Encyclopedia Britannica. (n.d.). W. C. Wentworth: Australian politician. In Encylopedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/place/New-South-Wales/Government-and-society
Hayter, A.C. (1852). Caroline Chisholm [Portrait]. Australian Dictionary of Biography. https://adb.anu.edu.au/biography/chisholm-caroline-1894
Iltus, J. (2006). Chisholm, Caroline (1808–1877). Australian Dictionary of Biography. https://adb.anu.edu.au/biography/chisholm-caroline-1894
Parson, V. (2022). Suttor, George (1774–1859). Australian Dictionary of Biography. https://adb.anu.edu.au/biography/suttor-george-1270
Persse, M. (2022). Wentworth, William Charles (1790–1872). Australian Dictionary of Biography. https://adb.anu.edu.au/biography/wentworth-william-charles-2782
[Portrait of Elizabeth Macarthur]. (1796). Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:ElizabethMacarthur.jpg
[Portrait of Gregory Blaxland, 1813]. (2013, April 22). Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Gregory_Blaxland.jpg
[Portrait of George Suttor]. (n.d.). State Library of New South Wales. Australian Dictionary of Biography. https://adb.anu.edu.au/biography/suttor-george-1270
[Portrait of John Macarthur].(n.d.). Australian Dictionary of Biography. https://adb.anu.edu.au/biography/macarthur-john-2390
[Portrait of John Therry]. (n.d.). Australian Dictionary of Biography. https://adb.anu.edu.au/biography/therry-john-joseph-2722
Sisters of Saint Joseph of the Sacred Heart. (2022). Mary's story. https://www.sosj.org.au/our-story/saint-mary-mackillop/marys-story/
Steven, M. (2006). Macarthur, John (1767–1834). Australian Dictionary of Biography. https://adb.anu.edu.au/biography/macarthur-john-2390
Sydney Living Museums. (n.d.). Stories from Elizabeth Farm. Retrieved (August 24, 2022), from https://sydneylivingmuseums.com.au/elizabeth-farm/stories
Tucker, M. S. (2018, April 8). Invisible women. Inside Story. https://insidestory.org.au/invisible-women/
Yarwood, A.T. (2006). Marsden, Samuel (1765–1838). Australian Dictionary of Biography. https://adb.anu.edu.au/biography/marsden-samuel-2433
