When accessing content use the numbers below to guide you:
brief, basic information laid out in an easy-to-read format. May use informal language. (Includes most news articles)
provides additional background information and further reading. Introduces some subject-specific language.
lengthy, detailed information. Frequently uses technical/subject-specific language. (Includes most analytical articles)
Reference Shelf
Need help?
Remember Library Staff are available to assist with academic article searches and selection, and to review your references prior to assessment submission. Just submit a Library Helpdesk ticket and a member of the Library staff will be in touch.
Click HERE for the complete APA 7th Edition Reference Guide.
Click HERE for a printable PDF quick guide of the APA 7th Edition Reference Guide (copies are also available in the Library).
Three functions of a business: everything you need to know
Check out these three functions of a business that will lead to your success 
In this programme we discuss the importance of a well constructed business plan, visiting the three main components; the operations plan, the marketing plan, and the financial plan. Speaking to two successful small business owners, we discuss how they constantly refer to their business plan, and the role it played in their business success.
Use the attached templates to identify the strengths, weaknesses, opportunities & threats for your business.
Identify actual businesses at different stages in the business life cycle.
Stages of the business cycle – Establishment, – Growth, – Maturity, – Post-maturity
Business.gov.au
This lesson on Marketing strategy introduces the concept of the Marketing Mix, and the 4 Ps of marketing.
In this video, we'll look at the three financial controls used to monitor a businesses financial performance: the balance sheet, income statement and cash flow statement.
This guide is directly linked to the syllabus with every single dot point of the Preliminary Business Studies syllabus appearing in the margin of the book. Students can write in the guide, so study is focused and notes are structured. Up-to-date coverage of all three topics of the Preliminary Business Studies course: Nature of business, Business management and Business planning, with an additional chapter - How to write a business report.
This guide provides students with a complete review of the NSW Preliminary Business Studies core content and skills for Year 11. It also contains: visual aids to learning and memory concise definition of key terms and specialised terms progressive test yourself opportunities within each chapter preliminary-style examination questions and suggested answers at the end of each chapter a preliminary-style examination paper and suggested answers.
Written for the NSW stage 6 syllabus. Introduces and establishes concepts that will be built on in the HSC course.
Whether you are starting your own business from scratch or looking to grow an existing venture, this easy-to-follow guide helps you take your small business to new heights. In no time, you will squash issues before they arise, pounce on opportunities the competition has missed and set your small business up for unbeatable success!
From envisioning the organizational structure to creating the marketing plan that powers growth to building for the future with airtight financial documents, this guide provides the tools to create well-constructed business plans. Beginning with the initial considerations, this handbook offers proven, step-by-step advice for developing and packaging the components of a business plan--cover sheet, table of contents, executive summary, description of the business, organizational and marketing plans, and financial and supporting documents--and for keeping the plan up-to-date. Four real-life business plans and blank forms and worksheets provide readers with additional user-friendly guidelines for the creation of the plans. This updated seventh edition features new chapters on financing resources and business planning for nonprofits as well as a sample restaurant business plan.
You're busy starting or running a business-talking to suppliers and getting your website going. Why should you stop and write a business plan? With the failure rate for new businesses frighteningly high, having a business plan will greatly reduce the chance of hitting forseeable problems before you get off the ground. A good business plan will focus your ideas and inspire you. This is a step-by-step guide to preparing the perfect plan, whether it is for you, a potential investor, or a financier. Packed with practical tips and advice, plus first-hand insights from Start-ups and top entrepreneurs, it will improve your chances of success.
Sections include Why write a Business Plan, Where do I start, Business Plan Formats, Strategic Planning, The Action Plan and Business Planning Prompts, Checklists and Case Studies.
A step by step guide including explanations and examples of how companies prepare Business Plans, simple and detailed templates and completed Business Plans, checklists, and explanations of market segmentation, strategy development, competitive analysis, general marketing theory and more.
Business.gov.au
Use the SMART criteria to help focus your efforts and increase the chances of achieving your goal.
Business.gov.au
References
365 Careers. (2017, July 4). The Marketing Mix - The dynamic nature of the 4 P's [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/JNiRYFM8XG0
Atomi. (2021, March 31). HSC Business Studies: Financial Statements [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/af7FsqE2JAM
Business.gov.au. (n.d.). Types of Business Structures. https://business.gov.au/planning/business-structures-and-types/business-structures
Business.gov.au. (2021, August 5). Set goals for your business. https://business.gov.au/planning/business-plans/set-goals-for-your-business
Business Victoria. (n.d.). Create your business vision statement. https://business.vic.gov.au/business-information/start-a-business/create-your-business-vision-statement
Chukwujama, C. (2018, December 1). A Guide to the HR Lifecycle. LinkedIn. https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/guide-hr-lifecycle-chuma-chukwujama/
HSC Study Lab. (2017, Feb 23). Y11 Business Studies: Stages of a business' life cycle [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/rE5jqvzEst8
Upcounsel.com.(2023). Three Functions of a Business: Everything You Need to Know. https://www.upcounsel.com/three-functions-of-a-business
SlideModel.com. (n.d.). Free Smart Goals Powerpoint Template. https://slidemodel.com/free-powerpoint-templates/free-smart-goals-powerpoint-template/
TemplateLAB. (n.d.). 26 Powerful SWOT Analysis Templates & Examples. https://templatelab.com/swot-analysis-templates/#google_vignette
VEA (Production Company). (2009). Small Business Management : The Business Plan [Video]. ClickView. https://clickv.ie/w/Jgft
Image Credits
Firmbee.com. (2015). Crunching the numbers [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/jrh5lAq-mIs
Putra, N. (2016). Vintage coffee shop counter [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/Kwdp-0pok-I
Winger, A. (2019). Hair Stylists having fun [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/WXmHwPcFamo
