When accessing content use the numbers below to guide you:
brief, basic information laid out in an easy-to-read format. May use informal language. (Includes most news articles)
provides additional background information and further reading. Introduces some subject-specific language.
lengthy, detailed information. Frequently uses technical/subject-specific language. (Includes most analytical articles)
Reference Shelf
Textiles - Testing Fabrics
The aim of this programme is to introduce a variety of textile materials used by designers when making their products. The programme describes the characteristics and properties of fibres, fabrics and yarns and how designers use this information to help them make decisions regarding the most appropriate and suitable materials for an end product. Students should develop an understanding of the classification of fibres, fabrics and yarns and how designers take a number of factors into consideration when choosing suitable materials. This programme will demonstrate how designers test the suitability of materials and the impact of health, safety, social and environmental concerns when choosing materials. The programme should demonstrate how designers choose and use fibres, fabrics and yarns in their end products. There should be lots of visual examples of materials from their origin to their manufacture into fabric and the end product. It should also demonstrate the importance of the fibres characteristics and properties and how they are tested and how they influence end choice.
Testing Textiles - Tests Fabrics & Products Undergo
This programme looks at the different tests fabrics and products have to undergo before they hit the shelves. Using examples from high street retailer, New Look and outdoor specialists Millets and Blacks, the programme visits industrial textiles testing laboratories and includes footage and clear explanations of tests for flammability, abrasion and pilling, tear and tensile strength, burst and drape testing, as well as tests for care labelling, eg. shrinkage and colour fastness. The programme also includes tests for high performance wear, including tests for insulation, breathability, wickability, wind and waterproofness.
This book will help you find the fabrics that suit the affects you want to achieve, show you how the fabric will perform, and recommend ways of using it. This new edition has information that is key to industry professionals (including designers and owners of fashion businesses) and explains textile issues and their impact on the environment. Find the perfect fabric for every design.
Examines the qualities of different fibres and fabrics, and encourages students to use this information in selecting a fabric for a particular job.
This encyclopaedia is a definitive reference guide to all the major types of fabric in circulation today, from abbot cloth to zibeline. In clear and engaging language, the author describes and illustrates more than 600 of the most important examples, from classic tweeds to state-of-the-art nano fabrics. Each entry includes a brief definition, informative notes on structure, and a list of uses. More than 700 color illustrations show a fabric's weave, texture, and other defining characteristics at a glance, and helpful diagrams demonstrate the structure of the most important types of textiles. The book concentrates on textiles in current use, but it also covers obscure or obsolete terms that one might come across--and that might still have something to teach today's designers, manufacturers, and textile historians. Each entry is carefully cross-referenced, and the book includes an extensive glossary and bibliography.
Comprehensive treatment of fibres as a material. Suited to project work at all levels in secondary schools.
The book explains the details of textile production and examines the properties of different fibers and fabrics. Other topics include textile dyes, finishes, economic and social issues, and consumer considerations. Practical exercises are provided.
References
Colorado State University. (2020). Colorado 4-H Textile Experiments. http://co4h.colostate.edu/statefair/score-sheets/Textile-Experiments.pdf
Pumpkin Interactive (Production Company). (2005). Testing Textiles: Tests Fabrics and Products Undergo [Video]. ClickView. https://clickv.ie/w/J4tn
VEA (Production Company). (2010). Textiles [Video]. ClickView. https://clickv.ie/w/vOsn
Cover Image Credits
Burk, J. (2016). [Person holding a measuring tape] [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/ECXB0YAZ_zU
Martinez, R. (2019). [Fashion design mannequin] [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/s/photos/fashion-design
Every Angle. (2020). [Close up of sewing machine] [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/cVqmAHQ1xj4
Kenion, C. (2017). Wedding dress fashion [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/69epvVgm0Ws
