Home - TAS - Textiles Technology - Year 10 - Design - Furnishing Portfolio and Textiles Item - LibGuides at Saint Patrick's College, Campbelltown

Key Terms

Textile Dictionary
Textile resource for fabrics, apparel, home furnishings and fabric care.
Aesthetics Meaning
What do they mean by "aesthetics" and how can we describe them?

Copyright Free Images

Are you looking for images to use in your assessment, but worried about that pesky copyright issue?

There are a number of websites you can use to source images which are available for use privately and commercially for free, such as the following:

Pixabay

✓ Free for commercial use ✓ No attribution required ✓ High quality images.

Pexels

Free stock photos you can use everywhere. ✓ Free for commercial use ✓ No attribution required.

Free images

Free, high quality stock images ✓ Free for personal use ✓ Free for commercial use

The following websites allow you to search for images licensed under the Creative Commons license. For more information about the Creative Commons visit https://creativecommons.org/

Creative Commons Search
Search engine for Creative Commons content on websites including Google and Flickr.
MorgueFile

MorgueFile features over 200,000 images which can be used commercially without attribution.

Resource Key

When accessing content use the numbers below to guide you:

brief, basic information laid out in an easy-to-read format. May use informal language. (Includes most news articles)

provides additional background information and further reading. Introduces some subject-specific language.

lengthy, detailed information. Frequently uses technical/subject-specific language. (Includes most analytical articles)

Reference Shelf

Reference Shelf

Inspiration

What is Aesthetic Design
Article from UX Collective exploring what aesthetic design is and its importance for the perception of usability.

Laser Cut Textiles - Design Inspiration
A Pinterest Design Inspiration Board
Embossed Fabric - Design Inspiration
by Spoonflower

Design Development

Design Evaluation

Includes information on what to consider when evaluating your design plus printable evaluation sheets

ClickView

Factors of Design : Part 3 : Visual, Tactile & Aesthetic

In this programme our presenter Aldi introduces three key factors of design that influence the end-user experience: visual, tactile and aesthetic.

Run Time: 16.20 mins

Evaluating a Product

This programme begins by looking at the concept of aesthetics in design, what aesthetics are and how they are used to enhance the beauty and appearance of a consumer product. It then takes an in depth look at how the qualities of a product are defined in the design process. Functional efficiency of a product and it’s incorporation into the design is an area which is carefully examined, followed by the impact its manufacture and disposal will have on the environment.

Run Time: 24.57 mins

Books in Library Collection

Classic and Modern Fabrics

This encyclopaedia is a definitive reference guide to all the major types of fabric in circulation today, from abbot cloth to zibeline. In clear and engaging language, the author describes and illustrates more than 600 of the most important examples, from classic tweeds to state-of-the-art nano fabrics. Each entry includes a brief definition, informative notes on structure, and a list of uses. More than 700 color illustrations show a fabric's weave, texture, and other defining characteristics at a glance, and helpful diagrams demonstrate the structure of the most important types of textiles. The book concentrates on textiles in current use, but it also covers obscure or obsolete terms that one might come across--and that might still have something to teach today's designers, manufacturers, and textile historians. Each entry is carefully cross-referenced, and the book includes an extensive glossary and bibliography.

20th Century Pattern Design : textile and wallpaper pioneers

This book charts the development of furnishing patterns from Art Noveau to the Millennium. Focusing on pioneers of printed textiles and wallpapers, the author gives a decade by decade account of the proliferation of pattern over the last century, tracing the cross-fertilization between designers around the globe, and the emergence of international pattern design superpowers.