When accessing content use the numbers below to guide you:
brief, basic information laid out in an easy-to-read format. May use informal language. (Includes most news articles)
provides additional background information and further reading. Introduces some subject-specific language.
lengthy, detailed information. Frequently uses technical/subject-specific language. (Includes most analytical articles)
Timber species
12 types of timber and what you need to know about them
Includes comprehensive timber types glossary
Joinery techniques
13 types of Wood Joinery - outlines various joinery methods including basic butt joint, mitered butt joint, biscuit joint and tongue and groove.
Tools and equipment
This video introduces us to a range of basic hand tools covering their uses, tips, and possible pitfalls. A full demonstration of how to safely and effectively use a range of saws, planes, and chisels is provided.
Timber finishes
Introduces beginner's to the hobby of working with wood and provides advice and information to expand the more experienced woodworker's knowledge and expertise. Explores the most popular natural and man-made woods used in furniture-making and woodworking, the tools for the job, techniques and methods, step-by-step projects and repairs and restoration.
A comprehensive and practical guide to working with wood, feauring basic and advanced projects. Includes sections on wood types, tools and equipment, basic techniques, making joints, wood finishes, advanced techniques, furniture repair and correcting mistakes. Features 11 complete projects, each with step-by-step photography and easy to follow instructions.
Written by Australian experts for Australian conditions and regulations, this book tells you everything you need to know to get the job done.Timber has always played an essential role in our lives and is often the material of choice for furniture, floorboards and structural features such as stairs.To work with timber it is equally important to understand the merits of different timbers and tools and to have a good, clear set of instructions. This book provides all this and more, so that you can plan and make functional decorative key pieces of furniture.- Comprehensive, up-to-date and packed with useful advice- Practical and easy-to-follow instructions with colour photographs and illustrations- Detailed lists of tools and materials and lots of helpful tips.
This text includes everything there is to know about wood from the properties of the various kinds of wood, ways it can be used and how to finish and care for it. It shows the techniques of carpentry, joinery and how to design furniture. Projects include a garden fence, gate, trellis, trestle, wine rack, chest, clock, coat stand, bed, bedside table, coffee table, decorative frame, table lamp, pipe stand, book stand, decorative clown figure, shelving, toy box, chessboard, CD rack and toy aircraft.
Are you looking for images to use in your assessment, but worried about that pesky copyright issue?
There are a number of websites you can use to source images which are available for use privately and commercially for free, such as the following:
Pixabay
✓ Free for commercial use ✓ No attribution required ✓ High quality images.
Pexels
Free stock photos you can use everywhere. ✓ Free for commercial use ✓ No attribution required.
Free images
Free, high quality stock images ✓ Free for personal use ✓ Free for commercial use
The following websites allow you to search for images licensed under the Creative Commons license. For more information about the Creative Commons visit https://creativecommons.org/
Search engine for Creative Commons content on websites including Google and Flickr.
MorgueFile features over 200,000 images which can be used commercially without attribution.
References
Aus_Tim. (n.d.). Your Guide to Choosing the Best Timber Finish. https://austim.com.au/blog/timber-finish-guide/
Baylor, C. (2019, December 12). 13 Types of Wood Joints, The Spruce Crafts. https://www.thesprucecrafts.com/wood-joinery-types-3536631
Classroom Video (Production Company). (2009). Hand Tools for Woodworking [Video]. ClickView. https://clickv.ie/w/ZOus
Homes to Love. (2019, July 5). 12 Tyoes of timber and what you need to know about them. https://www.homestolove.com.au/buyers-guide-to-timber-10123
Rocca, R., Scott, M., Filtness, S., & Holt, J. (2016). Design and technology : Stage 5. Cambridge University Press.
Cover image credits
Davis, A. (2020, September 21). Living room interior [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/jAkrfcmAKaU
NEON_ja. (2009, January 6). Wooden bowl made of swamp kauri, bought from Kauri Musuem, New Zealand [Photograph]. Creative Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Swamp_kauri_bowl.jpg CC BY SA 3.0
Schmig, A. (2021, September 7). Hammering a nail into timber [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/yUil4jcWZ6o
