Definitions taken from Wesley, A., Rocca, R., McKee, S., & McLean, M. (2015). Design and technology : Stage 6. Stage 6. Cambridge University Press.
When accessing content use the numbers below to guide you:
brief, basic information laid out in an easy-to-read format. May use informal language. (Includes most news articles)
provides additional background information and further reading. Introduces some subject-specific language.
lengthy, detailed information. Frequently uses technical/subject-specific language. (Includes most analytical articles)
Reference Shelf
This comprehensive series takes us through the design process and addresses the many factors that designers must contend with in the pursuit of great design and successful products. Our presenter illustrates concepts and transports us to the studios of successful Australian design firms. Throughout the series we examine five in-depth case studies of innovative and interesting products, from the EnterMo Blackberry case to the Tear Lab medical device. Through real world examples and the underlying theory, this series inspires viewers to consider concepts of innovation, time and cost management, and visual, tactile and aesthetic factors in their design.
Run Time: 17:07 mins
Throughout history, there have been many wondrous, unique and important innovations. But never have there been so many technological advances in a specific time period than in the past hundred years. This programme examines the concept of innovation and what makes for successful innovation. Through a case study of nanotechnology, we study the application of innovation to the design and development process within an emerging strand of technology. Nanotechnologist, Dr Sarah Morgan, gives her expert insight into the research and development of nanotechnology, how it is used in the present day and its increasing prevalence in years to come.
Run Time : 26:07 mins
Innovation at its most simple is about bringing an idea to market, but the power comes when you link design to creativity which allows that innovation to answer a need we didn’t know we had.
N.B. There are 8 episodes in this series.
Use the following template to write your case study
| 1. Describe the innovation | Include reference to the needs, use, function, aesthetic & how it is innovative |
| 2. Describe the important phases of development that lead to your innovation and the processes used | Make reference to the commercial and industrial processes used to develop the innovation |
| 3. Which factors have impacted on the success of the innovation. Explain how they have impacted on the design |
Factors:
|
| 4. Explain how any emerging technologies have been incorporated into or impacted upon the innovation | |
| 5. Determine the role the designer has played in the success of the innovation | |
| 6. Critically analyse any ethical issues considered by the innovator |
e.g.
|
| 7. Discuss in detail the environmental issues which have impacted on the innovation | Justify whether environmental issues have contributed towards or hindered the success of the innovation |
| 8. Evaluate how your innovation improves or diminishes the quality of life in Australian society. | Predict any future implications as a result of your innovation |
Provides a chronological look at the breakthroughs, discoveries and systems of inventions that have changed human life. From looms and sundials to personal computers and Post-It notes, readers will learn the details and significance of man's greatest achievements.
Call No: 609 CRA
The Book of Inventions is a painstakingly researched encyclopaedia of inventions. It provides the dates, the details and the stories of how we gained some of the things we now take for granted. Every possible invention is covered from the simple paper clip to the irritating parking meter or the massive and complicated structure of the jet engine, alongside the fascinating stories of the lives of the inventors themselves. Organised spread by spread, the book is packed with facts, photographs, and details. Timelines showing the chronology of events and biographies of the amazing inventors provide complete portraits of the evolution of some of the most integral elements of our lives today. Includes a Foreword by Art Fry, the inventor of the Post-it Note.
Discover three million years of famous inventors and amazing discoveries.1000 Inventions & Discoveriesnbsp;explores the brilliant ideas and innovations that have shaped our world. Whether you're a budding inventor yourself or love gizmos and gadgets this amazing guide is packed with the inventions and discoveries that changed our lives!
This work presents the development of science and technology through the study of 100 key inventions (selected from the Science Museum Collections), each one a milestone of industrial history. All the objects are illustrated in full colour, backed up in many instances by historical pictures in black and white. Together with the illustrations is an informative and easily understandable text placing each object in its historical context and explaining its function and workings. These texts are by experts in their fields and there is also an introduction by Neil Cossons, Director of the Science Museum. Between them they give an detailed overview of the way we arrived at our modern world.
The Book of Invention provides a chronological look at the breakthroughs, discoveries, and systems of inventions that have changed human life. From the discovery of fire to the invention of the Pentium chip, readers will learn the details and significance of man's greatest achievements.
Click here to search for additional case studies
Australian Centre for Innovation and International Competitiveness
Innovation shaping Australia and the world since 1916
Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources - Australian Government
References
Australian Financial Review. (n.d.). 3M: Innovation, ideas and solutions for a modern world. https://www.afrbiz.com.au/case-studies/3m-innovation-ideas-and-solutions-for-a-modern-world.html
Australian Government. (2021, July 19). Intellectual Property. https://business.gov.au/planning/protect-your-brand-idea-or-creation/intellectual-property
Australian Trade and Investment Commission. (n.d.). Australian Intellectual Property Laws, https://www.austrade.gov.au/international/invest/guide-to-investing/running-a-business/understanding-australian-business-regulation/australian-intellectual-property-laws
Classroom Video (Production Company). (2009). Innovation and Emerging Technologies [Video]. ClickView. https://clickv.ie/w/5hwp
ClickView (Contributor). (2018). Australia By Design : Innovations - Episode 1 [Video]. ClickView. https://clickv.ie/w/AM_q
VEA (Production Company). (2011). Factors of Design Part 1 : Innovation [Video]. ClickView. https://clickv.ie/w/thwp
Wesley, A., Rocca, R., McKee, S., & McLean, M. (2015). Design and technology : Stage 6. Stage 6. Cambridge University Press.
World Intellectual Property Organization. (n.d.). What is Intellectual Property? https://www.wipo.int/about-ip/en/
Cover Image Credits
Walker Horn, M. (2018). [Australian money] [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/hK4ZB2HUtEc
Carter, J. (2019). [Light bulb] [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/tMGMINwFOtI
Perks, H. (2019.) An everyday interaction with technology [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/BJXAxQ1L7dI
