Home - TAS - Design and Technology - Year 10 - Website - LibGuides at Saint Patrick's College, Campbelltown

Key Terms

aesthetics
Aesthetics is concerned with the visual impact or appeal of a product or environment and is influenced by social, emotional and demographic factors.
more...less...
https://educationstandards.nsw.edu.au/wps/portal/nesa/k-10/learning-areas/technologies/technology-mandatory-7-8-new-syllabus/glossary
functional design
A design method in which the system is seen from the functional viewpoint.
more...less...
encyclopedia.com
UI - User Interface
A user interface, also called a "UI" or simply an "interface," is the means in which a person controls a software application or hardware device. A good user interface provides a "user-friendly" experience, allowing the user to interact with the software or hardware in a natural and intuitive way
more...less...
Tech Terms.com
UX - User Experience
The usability, ease of use, and pleasure provided in the interaction between the customer and the product.
more...less...
https://educationstandards.nsw.edu.au/wps/portal/nesa/k-10/learning-areas/technologies/technology-mandatory-7-8-new-syllabus/glossary
wireframe
A visual guide that represents the visual layout or framework in order. They are widely used in website and app development.
more...less...
Definition from Get Appy Booklet

Resource Key

When accessing content use the numbers below to guide you:

brief, basic information laid out in an easy-to-read format. May use informal language. (Includes most news articles)

provides additional background information and further reading. Introduces some subject-specific language.

lengthy, detailed information. Frequently uses technical/subject-specific language. (Includes most analytical articles)

Reference Shelf

Reference Shelf

Gantt Chart

Gantt Charts Explained

How to make a Gantt Chart

Want to build a gantt chart, but aren’t sure where to start? TeamGantt makes it easy to create project plans and gantt charts—and in this video, we’ll show you how!

Wireframes

Microsoft

Printable Grids for Design Wireframing

Find printable PDF grids below:

Sneakpeekit Browser Grid
HP Elitebook X360 charger
Sneakpeekit 4-Up Browsers
Multiple browser frames that may come in hand to get your ideas down at the speed of light!

Design Considerations

Website Design: Aesthetics vs Functionality

UX Planet

UX design process: a simple (but complete) guide

Webflow

Books in Library Collection

Building Websites All-In-One for Dummies

Ten minibooks in one! The perfect reference for beginning web builders This hefty, 800+ page book is your start-to-finish roadmap for building a web site for personal or professional use. Even if you're completely new to the process, this book is packed with everything you need to know to build an attractive, usable, and working site. In addition to being a thorough reference on the basics, this updated new edition also covers the very latest trends and tools, such as HTML5, mobile site planning for smartphones and tablets, connecting with social media, and more. Packs ten minibooks into one hefty reference: Preparation, Site Design, Site Construction, Web Graphics, Multimedia, Interactive Elements, Form Management, Social Media Integration, Site Management, and Case Studies Covers the newest trends and tools, including HTML5, the new Adobe Create Suite, and connecting with social media Offers in-depth reviews and case studies of existing sites created for a variety of purposes and audiences, such as blog sites and non-profit sites Walks you through essential technologies, including Dreamweaver, HTML, CSS, JavaScript, PHP, and more Plan, build, and maintain a site that does exactly what you need, with Building Web Sites All-In-One For Dummies, 3rd Edition.

Hello Web Design

This book democratises web development for everyone. It's a fun, clever guide that covers all of the key design principles, best practices, useful shortcuts, pro tips, real-world examples, and basic coding tutorials needed to produce a beautiful website that you'll feel confident sharing with the world. Because you, too, can design for the web!