Christianity's contribution to the achievement of world peace
When accessing content use the numbers below to guide you:
brief, basic information laid out in an easy-to-read format. May use informal language. (Includes most news articles)
provides additional background information and further reading. Introduces some subject-specific language.
lengthy, detailed information. Frequently uses technical/subject-specific language. (Includes most analytical articles)
Terminology
Reference Shelf
How to Research for An Excellent Essay Response
Hints and tips on how to prepare for an essay response by conducting effective research. Access the info HERE.
Religious contributions to peacemaking: when religion brings peace, not war
In the popular mind, to discuss religion in the context of international affairs automatically raises the specter of religious-based conflict. The many other dimensions and impacts of religion tend to be downplayed or even neglected entirely. The contribution that religion can make to peacemaking--as the flip side of religious conflict--is only beginning to be explored and explicated. Access the full article HERE.
Gift of Peace : The elusive gift that Christ gave at that final meal
This journal article offers information on the gift of peace by Jesus Christ, and the Peace of God movement that originated around the first millennium as a response to increasing violence against monasteries. Some Christian faiths after the Reformation took on peace as their attribute, evidenced today by the traditions and practices of the Quakers and the Amish, and attempts to bring to fruition gift of peace that has been given to humanity. Access the full article HERE.
Building a Better Peace
This article discusses a Roman Catholic approach to peace-building in relation to nuclear disarmament, demobilization, and Reintegration/Reconciliation (D.D.R.), including the Catholic Church's involvement with the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (N.P.T.). Access the full article HERE.
Christianity and Peace
This is an edited version of the speech on 'Christianity and Peace' given by Rev. Brian G Cooper, Churches & Inter-Faith Secretary of Uniting for Peace, at the inter-faith Peace Conference held in Edinburgh on Sunday October 9 2011. Access the speech HERE.
Will Riding My Bicycle Bring World Peace?
reflections on creation care and peacemaking
This article investigates how linking Christ's work to environmental stewardship may contribute to reduced conflict and increased peace in the world. Access the full article HERE.
One Day for Peace
A journey across the suburbs of Western Sydney to ask: "What do you believe?" People from ten different faiths wrestle with some big questions inside their homes and prayer houses.
Research Databases
Religion & Philosophy Collection is a full-text database for theology and philosophy research.
This resource presents diverse perspectives on important issues and events - an excellent resource for controversial issues and balanced perspectives.
Digital Vatican Library provides free access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections: manuscripts, incunabula, archival materials and inventories as well as graphic materials, coins and medals, printed materials (special projects).
Just War Theory
The Just War Theory specifies conditions for judging if it is just to go to war, and conditions for how the war should be fought. Although it was extensively developed by Christian theologians, it can be used by people of every faith and none.
