Christian Environmental Ethical Teachings
When accessing content use the numbers below to guide you:
brief, basic information laid out in an easy-to-read format. May use informal language. (Includes most news articles)
provides additional background information and further reading. Introduces some subject-specific language.
lengthy, detailed information. Frequently uses technical/subject-specific language. (Includes most analytical articles)
Terminology
Reference Shelf
Integral Ecology: A Deeper Insight Into Reality
Reflection by Dr David Tutty, Executive Officer, Toowoomba Diocese Social Justice Council
Find it HERE.
Earthcare Steps to Ecological Dialogue
In 2020, Catholic Earthcare will trial an accreditation process whereby parishes and schools will undertake 8 steps to ecological dialogue to demonstrate a commitment and real outcomes aligned to church teachings and sound ecological practice.
The 8 Steps to Ecological Dialogue can be found HERE.
Global Catholic Climate Movement
"The Global Catholic Climate Movement (GCCM) works within the Catholic Church to better care for our common home".
The GCCM Core Values can be found HERE.
Laudato Si' - Encyclical letter Laudato Si' of the Holy Father Francis on care for our common home
Pope Francis' encyclical on the environment and human ecology. Find it HERE.
Christian Environmental Ethical Teachings - academic articles
Climate Injustice, Truth-telling and Hope
The author discusses the impact of humans on climate change as a contradiction of the Christian theology to love God's creation. She mentions how climate change is a manifestation of socioeconomic and racial inequality which impacts less powerful peoples more directly. Find the article HERE.
Whither the Bible in Environmental Ethics and Moral Argument?
The author discusses the value in Scripture addressing environmental ethics, particularly with regard to biodiversity. Find the article HERE.
Pathways to Environmental Responsibility
This article's study found that seeing nature as imbued with meaning, intrinsic value, and/or the sacred seems to engender an increased sense of environmental responsibility. Simultaneously, a natural, evolutionary, this-worldly spirituality tends to lead to a 'kinship with all life' ethics. The spiritual nature experience was characterized by three key themes labeled presence, interconnectedness, and self-expansion. Find the full article HERE.
Pope Francis and Catholic Social Teaching on Ecology
In his visit to the United States, Pope Francis stressed the Christian message on ecology, which includes a calling to an “ecological conversion”. However, a recent paper on the influence of Christian religiosity concerning the environment argues that Christian faith discourages environmental-friendly decisions. Francis message on ecology is part of the Catholic Social Teaching (CST), which contains valuable contributions, but it is still to be known.The article's authors' present a synthetic view of CST on ecology and its implications for businesses, shareholders and consumers. Find the full article HERE.
Christian Environmental Ethical Teachings - Books in the College Library
Talking About Ethics - Negotiating the Maze by 
Through ecological eyes : reflections on Christianity's environmental credentials by Research Databases
Religion & Philosophy Collection is a full-text database for theology and philosophy research.
This resource presents diverse perspectives on important issues and events - an excellent resource for controversial issues and balanced perspectives.
Digital Vatican Library provides free access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections: manuscripts, incunabula, archival materials and inventories as well as graphic materials, coins and medals, printed materials (special projects).
Ethically Challenged
An Australian family try to redefine the way they live, making ethical choices about how they travel and what they eat - and face the challenges of ethical living. Duration 26 minutes.
Turning to Faiths to Save the Planet : how religions shape environmental movement in Indonesia
This excellent article from The Conversation discusses how religions and religious leaders are actively voicing out impacts of climate change, alongside with scientists and the youth movement.
Find the article HERE
Catholic Social Teachings - Care for God's Creation
Duration 3 mins
