home - Religion - SOR 1 - Year 12 - Islam: Hajj - LibGuides at Saint Patrick's College, Campbelltown

Resource key

Resource Key

When accessing content use the numbers below to guide you:

brief, basic information laid out in an easy-to-read format. May use informal language. (Includes most news articles)

provides additional background information and further reading. Introduces some subject-specific language.

lengthy, detailed information. Frequently uses technical/subject-specific language. (Includes most analytical articles)

Databases

Databases

Religion & Philosophy Collection Covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Contains indexing, abstracts, and links to full text articles.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Discover encyclopedia articles, journals and periodicals, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources that are curriculum-aligned and support student research and classroom teaching.
JSTOR JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Online resources

Online resources

Hajj: Journey Of A Lifetime
Journeying to Mecca for Hajj (pilgrimage) is no ordinary undertaking for many Muslims. Hajj represents the culmination of years of spiritual preparation and planning.
Hajj: pilgrimage to Mecca
Once a year, Muslims of every ethnic group, colour, social status, and culture gather together in Mecca and stand before the Kaaba praising Allah together. It is a ritual that is designed to promote the bonds of Islamic brotherhood and sisterhood by showing that everyone is equal in the eyes of Allah.
The Social and Cultural Importance of Hajj
This article looks at the social and cultural importance of Hajj and what implications it has at an individual level and how it shapes societal behavior and actions.
Hajj Guide: Step by step guide to performing Hajj
Hajj is a spiritual duty and a pillar of Islam, meaning that Hajj must be performed by every Muslim at least once in their lifetime, so long as they are financially, physically, and emotionally able to do so. Going more than once during your lifetime is permitted whilst sincerely seeking Allah’s (SWT) (which means ‘The Most Glorified, The Most High) pleasure.

Videos

Reference Shelf

APA 7th Edition Reference Guide

Books in the library

Books in the library

These are just a few of the books the library has. Please check the assessment shelves and the library catalogue for more.

Pilgrimage: past and present. by Simon Coleman & John Elsner.
Call Number: REL WOR COL
ISBN: 9780714117386
Publication Date: 1995

Islam for Dummies by Malcolm Clark
Call Number: REL WOR ISL CLA
ISBN: 9780764555039
Publication Date: 2003

Islam - an Introduction by Ruqaiyyah Waris Maqsood
Call Number: REL WOR ISL MAQ
ISBN: 9781444103472
Publication Date: 2013

References

References

BBC. (2009). Hajj: Pilgrimage to Mecca. https://www.bbc.co.uk/religion/religions/islam/practices/hajj_1.shtml#h3
Gatrad, A., & Sheikh, A. (2005). Hajj: Journey of a lifetime. British Medical Journal, 330(7483), 133-137. http://www.jstor.org/stable/25458672
Islamic Relief Worldwide. (2023). Hajj guide: Step by step guide to performing Hajj. https://www.islamic-relief.org.uk/resources/knowledge-base/five-pillars-of-islam/hajj/step-by-step-hajj-guide/
Let the Quran Speak. (2021, July 10). The rituals of Hajj: Their meaning & significance | Dr. Shabir Ally [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/dXlGnlhHlyo
Nouman Ali Khan. (2023, February 15). The true purpose of Hajj - Nouman Ali Khan [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/w2Oj1rqVbqE
Shaikh, S. A. (2012, October 25). The social and cultural importance of Hajj, Islamic Economics Project. https://islamiceconomicsproject.com/2012/10/25/the-social-cultural-importance-of-hajj/

Religion - SOR 1 - Year 12 - Islam: Hajj: home