Definitions from Physical Activity and Fitness (Issues in Society Volume 361)
When accessing content use the numbers below to guide you:
brief, basic information laid out in an easy-to-read format. May use informal language. (Includes most news articles)
provides additional background information and further reading. Introduces some subject-specific language.
lengthy, detailed information. Frequently uses technical/subject-specific language. (Includes most analytical articles)
Reference Shelf
Physical activity and fitness (eBook)
by
Australian Government - Exercise & Physical Activity
Exercise and physical activity are important for good health and wellbeing - . Find out what we’re doing to help Australians become more active.
Physical Activity & Sedentary Behaviour Guidelines
Department of Health guidelines for adults and movement guidelines for children and young people
Heart Foundation - Physical Activity & your Heart Health
Information about the importance of physical activity for your heart health
Find a sport in NSW
Campbelltown City Council - Aquatics, Fitness & Indoor Sports
A list of council-run programs in the Campbelltown area
Health & Fitness Activities for Kids - Campbelltown
A list of active activities suitable for children in the Campbelltown area
Includes information about the importance of sport for kids, importance of staying healthy and finding fun in exercise.
The Benefits of Exercise
This programme focuses on the positive effects of exercise for both physical and emotional health. Experts discuss the importance of different elements of fitness; and teenagers and young adults share personal stories about how exercise helped them achieve and maintain a healthy weight, build strength, develop endurance, improve agility, boost self-confidence, and improve their mental and social health. The programme concludes with concrete suggestions from the exercise physiology expert on establishing an exercise routine that students can enjoy and stick with.
Run TIme: 16.29 mins
Exercise for Life
Explores the need for regular physical activity, discusses the reasons why regular physical activity is so important and provides examples and types of the amount of exercise required.
Run Time: 21.10 mins
This inclusive student-centred textbook includes comprehensive coverage of 12 modules that are outlined in the Sport, lifestyle and recreation syllabus.
This study of fitness and health covers aerobic and muscular fitness, nutrition, weight management, work and sport performance. It seeks to enable the reader to create their own personal activity, fitness and nutrition programmes that improve health and quality of life.
Includes chapters covering Aquatics, Athletics,First aid and sports injuries, Fitness, Healthy lifestyle, Individual games and sports applications, Outdoor recreation, Resistance training, Sports administration, Sports coaching and training.
Tools and resources to use to create a brochure
Are you looking for images to use in your assessment, but worried about that pesky copyright issue?
There are a number of websites you can use to source images which are available for use privately and commercially for free, such as the following:
Pixabay
✓ Free for commercial use ✓ No attribution required ✓ High quality images.
Pexels
Free stock photos you can use everywhere. ✓ Free for commercial use ✓ No attribution required.
Free images
Free, high quality stock images ✓ Free for personal use ✓ Free for commercial use
The following websites allow you to search for images licensed under the Creative Commons license. For more information about the Creative Commons visit https://creativecommons.org/
Search engine for Creative Commons content on websites including Google and Flickr.
MorgueFile features over 200,000 images which can be used commercially without attribution.
References
Active Activities. (n.d.). Health & Fitness Activities for Kids - Campbelltown. https://www.activeactivities.com.au/directory/category/health-and-fitness/location/nsw/sydney-region/macarthur-and-camden/campbelltown/
Australian Government Department of Health. (n.d.). Physical activity and exercise. https://www.health.gov.au/health-topics/physical-activity-and-exercise
Australian Government Department of Health. (2021, May 7). Physical activity and exercise guidelines for all Australians. https://www.health.gov.au/health-topics/physical-activity-and-exercise/physical-activity-and-exercise-guidelines-for-all-australians?utm_source=health.gov.au&utm_medium=callout-auto-custom&utm_campaign=digital_transformation
Campbelltown City Council. (n.d.). Aquatics, Fitness and Indoor Sports. https://www.campbelltown.nsw.gov.au/ServicesandFacilities/AquaticsFitnessandIndoorSports
Healey, J. (2013). Physical Activity and Fitness. The Spinney Press
Heart Foundation. (n.d.). Physical activity and your heart health. https://www.heartfoundation.org.au/heart-health-education/physical-activity-and-exercise
Human Relations Media (Production Company). (2016). The Benefits of Exercise [Video]. ClickView. https://clickv.ie/w/jbko
NSW Office of Sport. (n.d.). Find a sport. https://www.sport.nsw.gov.au/find-a-sport
Physical Activity Australia. (n.d.). Physical Activity Australia National Fitness Registration. https://www.physicalactivityaustralia.org.au/
VEA (Production Company). (2004). Exercise for Life [Video]. ClickView. https://clickv.ie/w/rbko
Cover Image Credits
Mars, B. (2018). Aerobic [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/gJtDg6WfMlQ
Ng, M. (2018). [Person swimming in a pool] [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/ZbbhkQ0M2AM
Nascimento, B. (2016). [Running shoes on stairs] [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/PHIgYUGQPvU
