When accessing content use the numbers below to guide you:
brief, basic information laid out in an easy-to-read format. May use informal language. (Includes most news articles)
provides additional background information and further reading. Introduces some subject-specific language.
lengthy, detailed information. Frequently uses technical/subject-specific language. (Includes most analytical articles)
Reference Shelf
This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Useful websites
Muscular - Skeletal System - BBC Bitesize
Cardio-respiratory system - BBC Bitesize
When to Do CPR for a Heart Attack - Healthline
When to Do CPR for a Heart Attack - Healthline
Bleeding - Better Health Channel
Limb injuries - Health Direct
Asthma Management - Better Health Channel
The following How to guides include a selection of tools and resources to help you when creating presentations.
How to create a Google Slides presentation
How to create a PowerPoint presentation
How to write a Feature Article
Provides questions and answers for each dot point in the syllabus for the following topics in the year 11 PDHPE course: Better health for individuals, The body in motion, First aid, and Fitness choices.
References
BBC. (n.d.). Muscular-skeletal system. https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/guides/z3mjxsg/revision/5
BBC. (n.d.). Cardio-respiratory System. https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/guides/z3xq6fr/revision/1
Beard, O. (2018, July 2). As it turns out, everything was okay. [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/DK8jXx1B-1c
Better Health Channel. (n.d.). Asthma Management. https://www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au/health/conditionsandtreatments/asthma-management
Better Health Channel. (n.d.). Bleeding. https://www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au/health/conditionsandtreatments/bleeding
Borba, J. (2019, October 14). [Woman doing crunches][Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/lrQPTQs7nQQ
Hamalainen, M. (2020, June 17). Core workout [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/Mgx1oe2vlVY
Healthdirect. (2021, August). Limb injuries. https://www.healthdirect.gov.au/limb-injuries
Healthline. (2022, February 18). When to do CPR for a Heart Attack. https://www.healthline.com/health/cpr-for-heart-attack
Nix, T. (2018, October 6). [Woman running up stairs] [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/Y1drF0Y3Oe0
