LibGuides: Coronavirus (COVID 19) Pandemic: Home

Key Terms

community transmission
the process of an infectious illness spreading through a large group of people in a general way, so that the source of the infection in a particular case is not known
contact tracing
Contact tracing is the process of identifying, assessing, and managing people who have been exposed to someone who has been infected with the COVID-19 virus.
coronavirus
any of a family (Coronaviridae) of large single-stranded RNA viruses that have a lipid envelope studded with club-shaped spike proteins, infect birds and many mammals including humans, and include the causative agents of MERS, SARS, and COVID-19
COVID-19
a mild to severe respiratory illness that is caused by a coronavirus (Severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 of the genus Betacoronavirus), is transmitted chiefly by contact with infectious material (such as respiratory droplets) or with objects or surfaces contaminated by the causative virus, and is characterized especially by fever, cough, and shortness of breath and may progress to pneumonia and respiratory failure
immunisation
Immunisation is the process of both receiving a vaccine and becoming immune to the disease as a result.
pandemic
an outbreak of a disease that occurs over a wide geographic area (such as multiple countries or continents) and typically affects a significant proportion of the population : a pandemic outbreak of a disease
quarantine
If a person or animal is in quarantine, they are being kept separate from other people or animals for a set period of time, usually because they have or may have a disease.
social distancing
the practice of maintaining a greater than usual physical distance (such as six feet or more) from other people or of avoiding direct contact with people or objects in public places during the outbreak of a contagious disease in order to minimize exposure and reduce the transmission of infection
vaccination
Vaccination involves receiving a vaccine from a needle or drops in the mouth. This is done by your healthcare professional.
virulence
The virulence of a disease or poison is its ability to harm or kill people or animals.

Australian Newspapers

The Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre provides the largest collection of full text from leading regional and international newspapers and periodicals, full-text reference books, tens of thousands of full-text biographies, and a collection of images containing more than one million photos, maps, and flags.

Australia and New Zealand Reference Centre Plus

JSTOR Database

JSTOR

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Science Reference Centre

Science Reference Center

This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.