home - HSIE - Geography - Year 9 - Environmental change and management: Cronulla - LibGuides at Saint Patrick's College, Campbelltown

Resource Key

Resource Key

When accessing content use the numbers below to guide you:

brief, basic information laid out in an easy-to-read format. May use informal language. (Includes most news articles)

provides additional background information and further reading. Introduces some subject-specific language.

lengthy, detailed information. Frequently uses technical/subject-specific language. (Includes most analytical articles)

Reference Shelf

APA 7th Edition Reference Guide

Online resources

Online resources

Explain how the geographical processes that are affecting the physical and built coastal environment have been managed on the Cronulla coastline.
There are three geographical processes that are affecting the physical and built coastal environment, they are; erosion, deposition, and transportation.

Ref.
Human Impact on the Australian Coast
The great majority of Australians live on or near the coast in the East of the continent, in Queensland, NSW and Victoria. Australia has been an urban country for 200 years, and at the start of the 21st century, about 70% of its population lives in urban centres of more than 100 000 people. Almost all of these centres are at the coast.
Ref.

Bate Bay Coastline Management Plan
Bate Bay emcompasses many beautiful beaches in Sydney's coastline.Despite its considerable attributes and the community’s
concern for its protection, Bate Bay has not achieved its potential as a premier coastal attraction and recreational resource. Its
inherent natural qualities have been lost or severely compromised by progressive development and the coastline hazards of beach erosion and shoreline recession.

Ref.

Databases

Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Australia/New Zealand Points of View This link opens in a new window This resource presents diverse perspectives on important issues and events. The information is a balanced perspective to better understand controversial issues and craft persuasive arguments – in speech and in writing.
Australia and New Zealand Reference Centre Plus This link opens in a new window

Websites

Websites

Coastal Erosion on Sydney Beaches
Coastal erosion is the process of the removal of sediment supply within a specific beach segment over a fixed period of time. Ongoing for thousands of years, coastal erosion is impacting several beaches within Sydney, and the issue is rapidly expanding along the coastline away from larger urban areas.

Ref.
Water Research Laboratory
A library of drone footage over East coast beaches, including a few over the Cronulla area, showcasing storm damage to shorelines.

Ref.

Online resource

Online resource

Coastal management in Australia. Click HERE

A PDF of the electronic book which is out of print. It introduces the background to the various coastal management systems operating in Australia and illustrates these with 'real world' examples from the different states and territories.

Ref.

Videos

Videos

Ref.

Ref.

Online resources

Online resources

C.R.A.P: Coastal management @ Cronulla Beach
To investigate the management strategies already put into place at Cronulla beach and evaluate their effectiveness.

Ref.
Cronulla's sand dunes survived Mad Max but now face a more insidious threat
The once vast sand dunes in Sydney’s south have been farmed, mined, filmed and eroded by wind and rain. Now they face encroaching housing developments

Ref.
Cronulla then and now: How the suburb's iconic 15,000-year-old sand dunes are being destroyed as houses spring up across the shoreline
Cronulla's iconic sand dunes were once a clean landscape and a natural protector against extreme weather. The landscape has since been destroyed by man-made developments such as housing over the past decades. A series of eye-opening before and after shots capture how the stretch of land has become unrecognisable

Ref.

HSIE - Geography - Year 9 - Environmental change and management: Cronulla: home

Resource Key

Reference Shelf

Online resources

Databases

Websites

Online resource

Videos

Online resources