American Civil War
Abraham Lincoln and the Union victory
Hold the cursor over each term to see the definition
When accessing content use the numbers below to guide you:
brief, basic information laid out in an easy-to-read format. May use informal language. (Includes most news articles)
provides additional background information and further reading. Introduces some subject-specific language.
lengthy, detailed information. Frequently uses technical/subject-specific language. (Includes most analytical articles)
Encyclopedia Britannica - The cost and significance of the Civil War 
Military.com - Six simple reasons the Union won the Civil War
Civil Rights and Race Relations in the USA, 1850-2009 by 
Atlas of American History by National Archives - Docsteach - The Civil War - Primary Sources
Harvard Business Review - To win the Civil War, Lincoln had to change his leadership 
References
American Battlefield Trust. (n.d.). Glossary of Civil War terms. https://www.battlefields.org/glossary-civil-war-terms
Barker, E. (2014, March 25). Lessons from Lincoln: 5 leadership tips history and science agree on. Time Magazine. https://time.com/37025/lessons-from-lincoln-5-leadership-tips-history-and-science-agree-on/
Civil War Archive. (n.d.). The Civil War archive. http://www.civilwararchive.com/
[Civil War Battle]. [Painting]. Creative Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:American_19th_Century,_Civil_War_Battle,_1861_or_after,_NGA_45961.jpg
Current, R. N. (2021, April 11). Abraham Lincoln. In Encyclopedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/biography/Abraham-Lincoln
Editors of Encyclopaedia Britannica. (2020, October 2). American Civil War timeline. In Encyclopedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/summary/American-Civil-War-Timeline
Editors of Encyclopaedia Britannica. (2022, January 1). Emancipation proclamation. In Encyclopedia Britannica.https://www.britannica.com/event/Emancipation-Proclamation
Eleven Photographs. (2020, May 22). Abraham [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/IydYk-LGOhc
Gardner, A. (1862, October 3). [Antietam, Md. Allan Pinkerton, President Lincoln, and Maj. Gen. John A. McClernand; another view] [Photograph]. Library of Congress. https://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2018666255/
Gardner, A. (1863). [Abraham Lincoln, head-and-shoulders portrait, facing front] [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/i_9hgrmcUGw
Govindarajan, V. & Faber, H. (2016). To win the Civil War, Lincoln had to change his leadership. Harvard Business Review. https://hbr.org/2016/05/to-win-the-civil-war-lincoln-had-to-change-his-leadership
Hassler, W. W. and Weber, J. L. (n.d.). The cost and significance of the Civil War. In Encyclopedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/event/American-Civil-War/The-cost-and-significance-of-the-Civil-War
National Archives. (n.d.). The Civil War : Primary sources and online teaching activities. https://www.docsteach.org/topics/civil-war
Stilwell, B. (2020, May 27). 6 simple reasons the union won the Civil War. Military.com. https://www.military.com/daily-news/2020/05/27/6-simple-reasons-union-won-civil-war.html
Strobridge & Co Lith. (c1888). Abraham Lincoln and his emancipation proclamation. [Lithograph]. Library of Congress. https://www.loc.gov/item/97507511/
Traill, D. (2016, October 3). Letters, telegrams, and photographs illustrating factors that affected the Civil War. National Archives. https://www.archives.gov/education/lessons/civil-war-docs
