When accessing content use the numbers below to guide you:
brief, basic information laid out in an easy-to-read format. May use informal language. (Includes most news articles)
provides additional background information and further reading. Introduces some subject-specific language.
lengthy, detailed information. Frequently uses technical/subject-specific language. (Includes most analytical articles)
NSW Department of Communities and Justice
The Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre provides the largest collection of full text from leading regional and international newspapers and periodicals, full-text reference books, tens of thousands of full-text biographies, and a collection of images containing more than one million photos, maps, and flags.
Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII)
AustLII is a joint facility of the UTS and UNSW Faculties of Law. They offer an online free-access resource for Australian legal information
HSC Legal Studies guide - State Library of NSW
Use the resources on this website to find information to support your Preliminary and HSC Legal Studies research
Publishes judgements and decisions of all NSW courts and tribunals administered by the Department of Justice
Provides access to thousands of cases, law reform documents and journal articles
Law Reform
Australian Law Reform Commission
Learn about the ALRC and the law reform process
Reviews the law in NSW and makes recommendations for change to the Attorney General. Prepares reports which analyse the law under review and make recommendations to Government for reform.
NSW Parliamentary Research Papers
Research papers which provide an excellent source of information about NSW law and may be useful for researching law reform in action. They cover new legislation being considered by Parliament as well as a broad range of subject areas, including law, politics and government, the environment, economics and social issues
Parliament of Australia Parliamentary Library Research Publications
Research papers which provide an excellent source of information about Commonwealth law.
Lawyers Weekly is the authoritative source of independent news, analysis and opinion about the practice of law in Australia.
Lexology delivers the most comprehensive source of international legal updates, analysis and insights.
Trusted and independent source of local, national and world news. In-depth analysis, business, sport, weather and more.
The Conversation Australia and New Zealand is a unique collaboration between academics and journalists that in just 10 years has become the world’s leading publisher of research-based news and analysis.
Time is one of the world's most renowned and respected news publications.
The Guardian Australia edition
Guardian Australia is the Australian website of the British global online and print newspaper, The Guardian.
The themes and challenges to be incorporated in your summary tables and article synopsis (where appropriate) include:
References
Australiasian Legal Information Institute. (n.d.). [Legal Resources]. http://www.austlii.edu.au/
Australian Government: Australian Law Reform Commission. (2021). [Legal Resources]. https://www.alrc.gov.au/
Lawcite. (2021, June 16). [indexed cases, law reform documents and journal articles]. http://www.austlii.edu.au/lawcite/
NSW Caselaw. (2021, February 26). Recent decisions for all courts and tribunals. https://www.caselaw.nsw.gov.au/
NSW Department of Communities and Justice. (2022, February 8). Legal Dictionary. https://www.lawaccess.nsw.gov.au/Pages/representing/lawassist_legalwords.aspx
Parliament of NSW. (2021). Research Papers Index Page. https://www.aph.gov.au/About_Parliament/Parliamentary_Departments/Parliamentary_Library/pubs/rp
Parliament of NSW. (n.d.) Research Papers (All by Publication Date). https://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/researchpapers/Pages/research-papers.aspx
State Library NSW. (2021, May 3). Legal Studies-HSC. https://guides.sl.nsw.gov.au/c.php?g=671868&p=4728930
Cover image credits
Campos Felipe, M. (2019, October 24). Photo shoot of two young lawyers [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/zd8px974bC8
Gouw, T. (2016, April 1). Three businesswomen [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/bwki71ap-y8
Tingey Injury Law Firm. (2020, May 14). A wooden gavel on a white marble backdrop [Photograph] Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/6sl88x150Xs
