NSW Department of Communities and Justice
When accessing content use the numbers below to guide you:
brief, basic information laid out in an easy-to-read format. May use informal language. (Includes most news articles)
provides additional background information and further reading. Introduces some subject-specific language.
lengthy, detailed information. Frequently uses technical/subject-specific language. (Includes most analytical articles)
Reference Shelf
Need help?
Remember Library Staff are available to assist with academic article searches and selection, and to review your references prior to assessment submission. Just submit a Library Helpdesk ticket and a member of the Library staff will be in touch.
Click HERE for the complete APA 7th Edition Reference Guide.
Click HERE for a printable PDF quick guide of the APA 7th Edition Reference Guide (copies are also available in the Library).
Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII)
AustLII is a joint facility of the UTS and UNSW Faculties of Law. They offer an online free-access resource for Australian legal information
HSC Legal Studies guide - State Library of NSW
Use the resources on this website to find information to support your Preliminary and HSC Legal Studies research
Publishes judgements and decisions of all NSW courts and tribunals administered by the Department of Justice
Provides access to thousands of cases, law reform documents and journal articles
EBSCOhost provides access to all the subscribed research databases, e-journals, magazine subscriptions, and ebooks.
Search by keywords in the box below:
The Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre provides the largest collection of full text from leading regional and international newspapers and periodicals, full-text reference books, tens of thousands of full-text biographies, and a collection of images containing more than one million photos, maps, and flags.
Each book in the Issues in Society series targets a specific social issue and comprises a thoroughly researched compilation of the latest news, facts, statistics and commentary from trusted sources. Many titles cover a range of opinions on controversial topics, providing the perfect platform to provoke debate, stimulate critical analysis and encourage further research.
Trusted and independent source of local, national and world news. In-depth analysis, business, sport, weather and more.
The Conversation Australia and New Zealand is a unique collaboration between academics and journalists that in just 10 years has become the world’s leading publisher of research-based news and analysis.
The Guardian Australia edition
Guardian Australia is the Australian website of the British global online and print newspaper, The Guardian.
Lawyers Weekly is the authoritative source of independent news, analysis and opinion about the practice of law in Australia.
Lexology delivers the most comprehensive source of international legal updates, analysis and insights.
Time is one of the world's most renowned and respected news publications.
Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA)
responsible for the regulation of broadcasting, radio and television communications and the internet
Australian Competition and Consumer Commission
Australia's Competition regulator and national consumer law champion
Australian Financial Complaints Authority (AFCA)
provides fair, free and independent dispute resolution for financial complaints
Australian Securities and Investment Commission (ASIC)
regulates and enforces laws relating to fairness and honesty in financial services
provide free conflict management and mediation services in NSW to help people resolve disputes
provide free legal advice and casework, deliver community legal education and engage in law reform
provides information to consumers and small businesses about how to recognise, avoid and report scams.
References
Australiasian Legal Information Institute. (n.d.). [Legal Resources]. http://www.austlii.edu.au/
Lawcite. (2021, June 16). [indexed cases, law reform documents and journal articles]. http://www.austlii.edu.au/lawcite/
NSW Caselaw. (2021, February 26). Recent decisions for all courts and tribunals. https://www.caselaw.nsw.gov.au/
NSW Department of Communities and Justice. (2022, February 8). Legal Dictionary. https://www.lawaccess.nsw.gov.au/Pages/representing/lawassist_legalwords.aspx
State Library NSW. (2021, May 3). Legal Studies-HSC. https://guides.sl.nsw.gov.au/c.php?g=671868&p=4728930
Image Credits
Banks, C. (2019, May 2). [Person using credit card for payment] [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/c2a0TydMlAs
Nelson, D. (2020, March 17). Everyday tool composition [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/ah-HeguOe9k
Sikkema, K. (2022, January 19). [Person holding buy card] [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/Uh5GWNUGgGY
