home - HSIE - Elective History - Year 9 - Preserved Human Remains - LibGuides at Saint Patrick's College, Campbelltown

Reference Shelf

Reference Shelf

Key Terms

archaeologist
a person who studies human history and prehistory through the excavation of sites and the analysis of artefacts and other physical remains
more...less...
Definition from Assessment Task
curator
a keeper or custodian of a museum or other collection
more...less...
Definition from Assessment Task

Databases

Databases

History Reference Center This link opens in a new window History Reference Center features cover-to-cover full text for historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books. The database also includes full text for leading history periodicals, historical documents, and biographies of historical figures, as well as historical photos and maps and historical film and video.
Australia/New Zealand Points of View This link opens in a new window This resource presents diverse perspectives on important issues and events. The information is a balanced perspective to better understand controversial issues and craft persuasive arguments – in speech and in writing.
Australia and New Zealand Reference Centre Plus This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Useful Resources

The Mummy Project (Sydney University)

Real Archaeology : Mummies

Human Remains - British Museum

websites

Useful Websites

Bodies in the Bog: The Lindow Mysteries
In the 1980s workers in an English peat bog started unearthing bodies, the apparent victims of violence. At the end of the most recent ice age, around 11,000 years ago, melting ice formed a bog in North West England. Lindow Moss, as the bog came to be known, stretched for 1,500 acres across what is now the county of Cheshire, encompassing a mosaic of habitats: woodland, scrub, and mossland.

Egyptian Mummies
The methods of embalming, or treating the dead body, that the ancient Egyptians used is called mummification. Using special processes, the Egyptians removed all moisture from the body, leaving only a dried form that would not easily decay. It was important in their religion to preserve the dead body in as life-like a manner as possible. So successful were they that today we can view the mummified body of an Egyptian and have a good idea of what he or she looked like in life, 3000 years ago.

Mummies of the World
A mummy, to put it bluntly, is an old dead body. But unlike a skeleton or a fossil, a mummy still retains some of the soft tissue it had when it was alive—most often skin, but sometimes organs and muscles, as well. This tissue preservation can happen by accident or through human intervention but, in either case, it occurs when bacteria and fungi are unable to grow on a corpse and cause its decay.

Preserved in Peat
Many archaeologically important finds of bog bodies occurred during exploitation of the raised bog areas for peat. The earliest record of a bog body from Lower Saxony is dated to 1754, but only as a handwritten note on an old map: the bog body itself no longer exists. Before this time, and through to the present, many bog bodies have been uncovered during peat digging excursions which were not officially documented, suggesting that existing records of bog bodies only represent a fraction of the actual number of bodies found, let alone those buried.

Videos

Books in the library

Books in the Library

These are just a few of the books in the library. Please check the catalogue and assessment shelves for more.

The Man in the Ice
Call Number: A.HIS ARCH SPI
The Ice Maiden
Call Number: 393 REI

How to guides

How to Create a Video - Research Guide

Learn how to create a video with your phone, Adobe Spark, Biteable, Canva and Google Slides

References

References

Eisenbeiss, S. (2016). Preserved in peat. Penn Museum. https://www.penn.museum/documents/publications/expedition/PDFs/58-2/preserved_peat.pdf
Garr, O. (n.d.). Xin Zhui. [Photograph]. Mummipedia Wiki. https://mummipedia.fandom.com/wiki/Xin_Zhui
Forman, W. (2014). Tollund man, victim of human sacrifice by ritual strangulation in Denmark..[Photograph]. Time. https://time.com/3036968/tollund-bog-man/
NewExplorer2929. (2012, October 26). Bog bodies. [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/p2MtJxUEFVg
Nova Online Adventure. (2000, November). Mummies of the world. Nova Online. https://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/peru/mummies/
Sammut, D. & Craig, C. (2019, July 23). Bodies in the bog: The Lindow mysteries. Science History Institute. https://www.sciencehistory.org/distillations/bodies-in-the-bog-the-lindow-mysteries
Smithsonian. (n.d.). Egyptian mummies. https://www.si.edu/spotlight/ancient-egypt/mummies
Swaen, D. (n.d.). Windeby Girl. [Photograph]. Pinterest. https://nl.pinterest.com/pin/516506650994823860/?d=t&mt=login

HSIE - Elective History - Year 9 - Preserved Human Remains: home

Preserved Human Remains