Genocide
Databases
Libraries
It is helpful as senior students to be members of other libraries. Click the links to access
Joseph Stalin, leader of the Soviet Union, set in motion events designed to cause a famine in the Ukraine to destroy the people there seeking independence from his rule. As a result, an estimated 7,000,000 persons perished in this farming area, known as the breadbasket of Europe, with the people deprived of the food they had grown with their own hands.
In 1899 and 1907, at a city called The Hague in the Netherlands, the world powers agreed to prohibit the killing or mistreatment of prisoners of war and civilians. In effect, these Hague Conventions made it illegal under international law for soldiers and their commanding officers to carry out acts that came to be called "war crimes."
By the early 1930s, Japanese military and political leaders believed that it was Japan's destiny to acquire China. They thought that Japan's economic survival depended on control of Chinese agricultural lands and other resources.
In the four years that the Khmer Rouge ruled Cambodia, it was responsible for one of the worst mass killings of the 20th Century. The brutal regime, in power from 1975-1979, claimed the lives of up to two million people.
This websites covers the background, violence, response and aftermath to the Genocide in Bosnia-Herzegovina from 1992 to 1995.
On the eve of World War I, there were two million Armenians in the declining Ottoman Empire. By 1922, there were fewer than 400,000. The others — some 1.5 million — were killed in what historians consider a genocide.
The Nanjing Atrocities: Crimes of War
Eyewitness Testimony: Bosnia and Herzegovina
*Also see video tab for more eyewitness accounts
Books in the library
This list of books is not exhaustive. Please check the assessment shelves and the library catalogue for further material. There are also eBooks within the library catalogue.
A Social History of Twentieth-Century Russia
by
The Cambridge Illustrated History of China
by
Use this checklist to stay on track
| Task | Accomplished |
| The background to the genocide including leading to the acts of genocide | |
| The main events and groups/personalities involved | |
| Sources including eyewitness accounts to establish the impacts on the people and the country | |
| The outcomes of the genocide: How was this genocide a turning point for the country, the groups/individuals involved and / or the world? | |
| A comparison with the Rwandan genocide | |
| A correctly formatted bibliography |
References
Amnesty International. (2022). Armed conflict. https://www.amnesty.org/en/what-we-do/armed-conflict/
BBC News. (2018, November 16). Khmer Rouge: Cambodia's years of brutality. https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-pacific-10684399
Constitutional Rights Foundation. (n.d.). The rape of Nanking. https://www.crf-usa.org/bill-of-rights-in-action/bria-18-3-b-the-rape-of-nanking
Genocide Watch. (n.d.). Home. https://www.genocidewatch.com/
Facing History & Ourselves. (2022). The Nanjing atrocities: Crimes of war. https://www.facinghistory.org/nanjing-atrocities
The History Place. (2000). Stalin's forced famine 1932-1933. https://www.historyplace.com/worldhistory/genocide/stalin.htm
International Committee of the Red Cross. (n.d.). Who we are. https://www.icrc.org/en/who-we-are
Kifner, J. (n.d.). Armenian genocide of 1915: An overview. The New York Times. https://archive.nytimes.com/www.nytimes.com/ref/timestopics/topics_armeniangenocide.html?simple=True
Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Comparison. In Merriam-Webster dictionary. Retrieved May 4, 2022, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/comparison
Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Conflict. In Merriam-Webster dictionary. Retrieved May 4, 2022, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/conflict
Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Genocide. In Merriam-Webster dictionary. Retrieved May 4, 2022, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/genocide
Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Outcome. In Merriam-Webster dictionary. Retrieved May 4, 2022, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/outcome
Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). War Crimes. In Merriam-Webster dictionary. Retrieved May 4, 2022, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/war%20crimes
UNICEF. (n.d.). Home. https://www.unicef.org/
United Nations Office on Genocide Prevention and the Responsibility to Protect. (n.d.). Genocide. https://www.un.org/en/genocideprevention/genocide.shtml
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. (2013, July). Bosnia and Herzegovina, 1992–1995. https://www.ushmm.org/genocide-prevention/countries/bosnia-herzegovina/case-study/background/1992-1995
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. (n.d.). Eyewitness testimony: Bosnia and Herzegovina. https://www.ushmm.org/genocide-prevention/countries/bosnia-herzegovina/eyewitness-testimony
