When accessing content use the numbers below to guide you:
brief, basic information laid out in an easy-to-read format. May use informal language. (Includes most news articles)
provides additional background information and further reading. Introduces some subject-specific language.
lengthy, detailed information. Frequently uses technical/subject-specific language. (Includes most analytical articles)
Reference Shelf
Profiles Thancoupie, Australia's most famous Indigenous potter reknowned for creating stunning spherical forms with Indigenous designs.
Run Time: 26:25 mins
How to structure a feature article
Feature articles follow a specific format and include the following:
| Headline | should grab the readers attention and should highlight the general topic of the story |
| Subheading or standfirst | one or two sentences that convince readers they should read on and that capture the gist of the story |
| Introduction | the first paragraph or two should 'hook' the reader and draw them in to the story |
| Body of the feature | contains most of the details of the story and can be broken in to paragraphs |
| Conclusion | should leave a lasting impression on the reader and provoke some sort of reaction. |
Internationally renwoned Weiper elder, Thancoupie uses the language of her art to convey the legends of her people - the Thaynakwith. This book combines her art with a Thaynakwith language dictionary, cultural guide and stunning photographs, bringing alive her family customs.
This revised edition includes nine new artists - Tony Albert, Jakayu Biljabu, Mirdidingkingathi Juwarnda Sally Gabori, Julie Gough, Ivy Pareroultja, Esme Timbery, Wingu Tingima, Harry Tjutjuna and Barrupu Yunupingu and new works by Richard Bell, Destiny Deacon, Makinti Napanangka and Uta Uta Tjangala. Using the rich collection of the Art Gallery of New South Wales, this book provides an important introduction to Indigenous art in Australia through the work of 86 artists across the continent, from remote areas to urban centres.
A celebrated Australian artist and a leader in her community, Thanakupi is a creative, passionate and remarkable woman and leaves a deep impression on everyone who meets her. This is the exhibition catalogue accompanying Thanakupi's solo exhibition and also presents some significant places in her country of Wik.
Need to write a Magazine Feature Article but not sure where to start?
This guide includes links to tools and resources that can help you.
Use these checkpoints to help you stay on track:
| Task | Finish this by |
| Complete research on Thancoupie | Term 2 Week 1 |
| Draft Article - handwritten | Term 2 Week 2 |
| Final Article due | Term 2 Week 3 |
References
(2004). Message Stick: Thancoupie: Aboriginal Pottery [Video]. ClickView. https://clickv.ie/w/s-Vp
Brook, N. (2014). Thanakupi. Art Gallery of NSW. https://www.artgallery.nsw.gov.au/collection/artists/thanakupi/
Donnelly, P. (2001, May 16). Thancoupie (Thanakupi) the Potter (1937-2011). Museum of Applied Arts & Sciences. https://www.maas.museum/inside-the-collection/2011/05/16/thancoupie-thanakupi-the-potter-1937-2011/
Scholastic. (n.d.). Writing a Newspaper Article. https://www.scholastic.com/teachers/articles/teaching-content/writing-newspaper-article/
Thancoupie Bursary. (n.d.). About Thancoupie. https://www.thancoupiebursary.com/thancoupie/
Cover Image Credits
Australian Ceramics. (n.d.). The Journal of Australian Ceramics. https://www.australianceramics.com/journal
Guibord, A. (2012, August 17). 'Eran' by indigenous Australian artist Thanakupi of Weipa, Queensland [Photograph]. Flickr. https://www.flickr.com/photos/alexguibord/7802578448
Robertson, E. (2017, February 15). [Photograph of a magazine and glasses] [Photograph]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/4hH8MJBQYYE